Sacral (Svadisthana) Chakra


This is the area in our bodies—our hips, sacrum and genitals—where we can be open, or closed, to the movement of emotional and sensual energies. This is the where we experience pleasure and intimacy, as well as desire and sexuality.

The second Chakra encompasses the body’s hips, lower abdomen, lower back, sacrum, reproductive organs, womb, bladder and kidneys—areas where a lot of people hold tension or pain. The hip areas are where people tend to store heavy and excessive emotions—a sort of overflow-zone where we hold the feelings and ideas that we may not be address or releasing from our lives.


This Chakra is related to all watery things in our existence—tears, urination, circulation, menstruation and orgasm. Water represents and creates movement, change and flow in our bodies, so healthy care and attention to your Sacral Chakra can help you to embrace these elements in your life.

The even-numbered Chakras—including the second, fourth and sixth—are associated with “feminine qualities,” such as openness and relaxation. It’s these even-numbered Chakras that open us to feelings of love, compassion, trust and intuition, and they are the areas where our bodies can produce calm and cool energy—versus the more “masculine” traits of productivity, knowledge and action, which creates more warmth and generates heat in the body.



Relative Foods

Orange-colored foods are associated with the second Chakra. These foods include citrus fruits such as oranges and tangerines, as well as squash and pumpkins, according to MindBodyGreen. Nuts are also foods that are associated with the Sacral Chakra, as well as water and all liquids.

Healing Techniques

The power of pleasure can be a healing elements to the second Chakra, so gentle and restorative yoga postures are often effective in relaxing the tense areas around our hips and lower backs.

Groin and hip-opening postures—such as Bound Angle Pose (Baddha Konasana), Seated Splits (Hanumanasana), Prayer Squat Prayer Squat (Namaskarasana), and Half-Pigeon (Eka Pada Rajakapotasana)—can help to release tension in your second Chakra, and allow you to be more open to energetic and emotional flows. Do not force these poses, but instead use softer approaches of surrender and sensitivity.

“The second Chakra encourages us to feel the feelings that arise as we open to life just as it is,” according to Yoga Journal. “When we relax our resistance to life, our hips let go, our reproductive organs become less tense, and we’re open to experiencing our sensuality and sexuality.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s