What is Buddhism? Who is the Founder of Buddhism?

Buddhism is a religion and philosophy with a wide variety of traditions, beliefs and practices which are largely based on the teachings of Siddhartha Gautama, commonly known as the Buddha (Pali / Sanskrit “The Awakening”).

Two main branches of Buddhism are recognized: Theravada (“The School of the Elders”) and Mahayana (“Greater”) vehicle.

Theravada, the older branch, has a widespread following in Sri Lanka and Southeast Asia. Mahayana has a large following across east Asia and encompasses the traditions of the Pure Land, Zen, Nichiren Buddhism, Tibetan Buddhism, Shingon, Tendai and Shinnyo-en. While Buddhism is the most popular in Asia, the two branches have now spread across the entire world.

The basic practices of Buddhism are geared toward meditation. But Zen Buddhist practices extend beyond.

Rinzai and Soto are two of the seven great Zen Buddhists in Japan with Soto being the most common one of the two. In fact, the word “Zen”, comes from the Sanskrit word for meditation. All can be transformed into “zazen” which is the name of a Zen Buddhist meditation technique. Regular daily practice is of paramount importance.

Buddhists from Monaco spend a lot of time meditating. Meditation on the koan is mainly used by the branch of the Rinzai Zen. All practitioners of Zen Buddhism seek enlightenment. Although meditation is the most important part of the practice, the addition of other techniques can help achieve this goal.

Buddhism is a religion based on the teachings of the Buddha, known as “Dharma”. Those who practice Buddhism are in a spiritual search to achieve a state of complete enlightenment known as nirvana.

This religion focused on the teachings of the Buddha, by supporting the Sangha (the trailer) to meditation as a means to train the mind to eliminate suffering and to attain nirvana.

Theravada Buddhism was the Tripitaka, the Pali canon of Buddhist teachings, and Ten Commandments that govern the lives of Buddhist monks.

Practiced mainly in China, Korea and Japan, Mahayana Buddhism includes elements of mysticism and cosmology. Mahayana Buddhism is fragmented into two variants. Zen Buddhism, which focuses more on the internalization of the spiritual journey and self-confidence and the Pure Land, which teaches the devotion to the Buddha Amitabha is needed to reach nirvana.

Although strongly influenced by Mahayana Buddhism, Tibetan Buddhism or Vajrayana constitutes another significant discipline of the Buddhist faith. Also Tantric Buddhism known Vajrayana contains both text and writing including Theraveda Mahayana Buddhism and Buddhist tantra.

Read more about buddhist wisdom at wisdomchange.com:http://blog.wisdomchange.com/buddhist_wisdom.php

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Jazmine_Farley

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/3718255

Different Types of Buddhism

Just like there are many different denominations of Christianity – including Protestant churches and Catholicism, the different types of Buddhism reflect the way that this religion is practiced.

Buddhism is a dharmic religion and form of spirituality that revolves around certain beliefs and practices – all of which are aimed at bringing the participant closer to Buddhahood – the highest level of spiritual awareness. However, because the religion has gained followers in several different parts of the world (mostly in Asia), the way that Buddhism is practiced has split into several different sects. All of the Buddhist sects believe certain things in common: all accept Buddha as their teacher, use the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path in their teachings, and believe that Buddhahood is the highest attainment.

Most scholars divide the different types of Buddhism into three sections. The first of these is Southern Buddhism, or Theraveda Buddhism. The word Theraveda is a word in the Pali language (thought to be spoken by the Buddha) that means “the Doctrine of the Elders”. The biggest aim in the Theraveda practice is to use meditation to train the mind, and to encourage freedom of the mind from suffering. This freedom from suffering will allow you to reach the greatest spiritual goal – Nirvana. Theraveda Buddhism is the only surviving school from the earliest years of Buddhism, and it is mostly practiced today in Sri Lanka, Laos and Cambodia.

The second type of Buddhism that is mentioned is Eastern Buddhism, also known as Mahayana Buddhism. This sect not only teaches the Pali Canon (which is the religious text of Theraveda Buddhism) but also includes additional texts and beliefs. In order to reach Nirvana, Mahayana Buddhists believe that a person must practice universal compassion, which is the altruistic quest of the Bodhisattva to attain the “Awakened Mind” of Buddhahood. Mahayana Buddhism also has a level of mysticism involved. This type of Buddhism is practiced in China, Korea and Japan, as well as parts of other Asian countries.

The third of the different types of Buddhism is Northern or Tibetan Buddhism. Tibetan Buddhism is also considered to be a type of Mahayana Buddhism, but it also embraces other teachings, texts and practices that are not seen in the Eastern type of Mahayana Buddhism. Tibetan Buddhism is also sometimes called Tantric Buddhism or Vajrayana. This type of Buddhism uses both the Mahayana and Theraveda scriptures, as well as a number of Buddhist Tantras – all of which are aimed at attaining Buddhahood in just one lifetime instead of requiring many reincarnations.

While all of the different types of Buddhism have the same goal and same basis for their beliefs, the way that Buddhahood is obtained varies from sect to sect. It is important to understand the way that each sect works before choosing to practice a type of Buddhism.

Read free dahli lama quotes daily for peace and enlightenment at DahliLamaQuotesDaily.com

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Aazdak_Alisimo
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/712243

reblogged from: http://knowmoreabout.net/